For a while now, I’ve wanted to write a blog about boycotting the 2008 Olympics in China.  It’s the right thing to do.  Look at what they’ve done to Tibet….  Look what they’re still doing.  And remember what they did to folks who said “we want democracy” in Tiananmen Square?  Or who said “we want to practice Falun Gong”?  I could go on forever….  We’re going to reward their government with the prestige (not to mention riches) of playing host to the Olympic Games?

I feel for the athletes; I really do.  They’ve worked their asses off to get where they are.  But let’s face it – there are far more important things in the world than sporting events.  Remember Munich 1936?  Hitler reveled in the attention.  Germany profited greatly.  And perhaps some of that cash influx in the wake of those Olympic games helped build the World War II Blitzkrieg machine – or the concentration camps.  Maybe not….  But just maybe….  

The show must go on.  Right?  For the athletes… for the American television networks….

Uh… I don’t think so.

Anyway, my friend Ronnie Fowler, a.k.a. Flower Clown (www.flowerclown.com), posted a bulletin on MySpace today.  And I said, “Wow this seems to make sense.  I’d love to repost it – as a bulletin, a blog, or whatever.”  Thankfully, he’s given me his permission to do just that.  I’d love to hear your ideas as well.





Here’s Ronnie’s bulletin:

From: FlowerClown 
Date: Mar 22, 2008 11:06 AM

I / We need to do something. With the Chinese moving into Tibet and kicking out all the media and tourists things are going to get really bad really quick. I am making a big change in my life. I am going “China Free” I will not buy anything else “Made in China” Granted there are going to be times where I must have an item in order to keep my business running but I will do my best.

I know it is going to be hard. Everything is “Made in China”. A few years ago I gave up on Wal-Mart. That wasn’t so hard because there are many choices.

I would like you to give it a try. Go China Free for a Day / Week / Month / Year / Life Time. All I can ask is that you try. I have been selling and giving out a lot of small toys that are from China and this will have to stop. When my stock is gone it is gone for good. I have been looking for small toys that are not made in China and have had some but little luck.

Wow! We all get $600 from George W Bush. This is going to kick start the economy. It is just one more thing that goes on our credit card that our children and grand children will have to pay back. Not much we can do about that. Here is my idea and please pass it on to all you know. Use this $600 and only buy goods and services from the USA. How is this going to help the USA if we buy stuff made over seas? I know most of Americans will use it to pay bills or just save it.

Please pray for the Tibetan people. They protested peacefully and it turned out violent. China will not let you protest the government. You will be arrested if you are caught with a photo of the Dalai Lama. I had one when I was in Tibet and passed it on to a monk before I was searched. Lucky for me. I could have spent time in jail for a photo of a monk.

In todays day and age protests don’t work! It is still good to show our feelings about our World but the true way to protest is with our $$$$. Please due your part in changing the World for the better. I know I have been trying for many years now.

Thank you for your time,
Ron Fowler aka Flower Clown




[No 2008 Olympics or new “Made in China” items for me anytime soon! – JC]

