I’m very busy and feeling very inspired today – working both on my book of memoirs and on revising and assembling new poetry for likely publication.  I want to post some of my best new poems here – but I have chosen not to because the potential publisher(s) would prefer that the “work has not been previously published elsewhere either online, in print, or in any other medium.”  That’s part of why I’ve been posting crappier old stuff like Cannibal Candelabra and yesterday’s Neurotic Confusion – Ordinary Mind, which I find interesting for various reasons but don’t consider finished poetry worthy of publication.  I post them as curiosity pieces, time capsules – and in many cases I plan to dissassemble these old pieces and use the best parts of them in newer, better contexts.

But to tide you over until I write a proper new blog (which may be as soon as tomorrow or as far off as a week from now), here is another “unfinished” curiosity piece with latent potential:

[from Meditations and Improvisations]

3 August 1997
8:35 p.m.


Jerusalem
Is a city of destruction
Pale stone
Hearty lore
Non-extinction

Ant
Unwittingly smashed
Between book and syllabus
Thorax distanced
From its head
Antennae
Fuck it






That’s me with the bare feet in the orange and white tunic, playing the disciple Peter and singing “You Are the Christ” as I lead the other disciples in following Curtis Chapman (who played Jesus) across the stage.  The picture was taken in the Marion Correctional Institution chapel on Easter Sunday in 1997 at the dress rehearsal for my musical play For All Have Sinned, which created a bit of controversy in the cornfields of central Ohio for featuring an African-American Jesus.  The disciples visible behind me (from left to right) were played by Richard Adamowski, Ron Ambrosia, Frank Mickes, Willie Griggs, Darryle Cook, John Britton, and Larry James
[photo by prison Chaplain and Ministry of Theatre founder Hugh J. Daley]




Curtis Chapman and me as Jesus and Peter (what was up with my hair?)
[same day, same stage, same photographer]

