[Since I’ve been on a kick lately of posting selections from my 1997 prison journal, Meditations and Improvisations, and since my next “real” blog requires much meditation before posting, here is another 1997 selection.]


8 May 1997
9:25 a.m.

No one is home
The mistress lives elsewhere now
The master is carousing
The children never arrived
The dog has passed away
Yet the light remains on

* * *

12:05 p.m.

“Love will be the death of my lonely soul brothers.”
– Depeche Mode

* * *

12:45 p.m.

Will it
Be
Seen by the light?

Everyone has seen the light
But the light is blind

* * *

1:15 p.m.

I walked and talked in circles
Serious, silly, scented

I held the cord of grace tightly
And pulled
Releasing a semblance of taste

I reached into the closet
Retrieved a cloak
And went out into the elements

I looked for brave companions
And walked and talked in circles

* * *

3:10 p.m.

Let the lethargy pass.
Finally,
For once,
Time is too slow


