In 1996, my third full year incarcerated, I kept a journal entitled Sin and Slumber.  Among the gems and junk in it are about two dozen poems I intended to make into a collection entitled In a Dada ga Vida (not to be confused with Iron Butterfly’s “In A Gadda Da Vida”).  The Dada poems are a bit more “modern” (for lack of a better word) than some I’ve posted recently.  A composer friend who saw them called them avant garde

I’m interested in seeing what kind of response they get in the 21st century.  And so here’s an example, written on 30 September 1996 to go inside the back cover of Sin and Slumber.  It’s what I like to call a “loop” poem.  Like a record stuck in its groove, it’s meant to repeat. 


…Slaughter
staIned,
Nubile And uNannounced
(unDressed Stigmata),
sLips
Under the Mirror
Breathlessly,
Eager foR…



[After posting this, I decided that an explanation of sorts might be help folks get more out of this poem.  Please check the comments below for a bit of elucidation.]

