My MySpace friend Don sent me these interview questions in April – and I’m just now getting around to answering them. 

Better tardy than trash-canned, I suppose….

And I’m going to try my best to tame my tendency toward verbosity and keep it brief (heck – even that sentence was redundant… lol).



This is Don



Don: What is the single most important thing that has happened in America in the past 25 years?

JC: George W. Bush winning the Presidency in 2000.


Don: Using only three words for each, describe the three presidential candidates.

JC:  Clinton = Smart, strong, stubborn
       Obama = Smart, surprising, swiftboatable
       McCain = Bore, war, whore

Don: Who has been the most influential person in your life?

JC:  Short answer: Mom, for a number of reasons.  I know I wrote a blog about this on my old MySpace profile (that was deleted a year ago by Murdoch’s minions) long before I knew Don – wish I’d saved it in Word so I could cut and paste it here….  Here are a just a few reasons for my choice: I might not have gone to college, might not have survived prison, and might not have been as sensitive as I am without Mom.  I think I might have discussed this more in one of my “Ask Jesus Anything” blogs (here are links: Part OnePart TwoPart Three).

Don: You are very passionate in your beliefs. How often does someone have a convincing enough argument to sway you?

Not often….  I tend to be very indecisive.  I deliberate forever over even the most trivial things.  I always try to look at all the evidence, put myself in the shoes of folks on all sides of an issue, and really be objective and thoughtful before drawing a conclusion.  So once I’ve made up my mind, I usually find that the arguments people use to try to sway me are ones I’ve already seriously weighed before I made the decision.  Sometimes new information will surface, however – or I simply mature/grow/evolve – and I will change my mind.  After all, I voted for George Bush in 1988, before I knew better.  It does happen – so I try to keep an open mind.  Like anyone perhaps, I hate to have to admit I was wrong.  So I try to be thorough in my thinking before I decide – and thereby keep my mea culpas to a minimum.

Don: Should we boycott the Olympics? Would that help Tibet in any measurable way?

I am boycotting the Olympics.  I feel I need to do something to show solidarity with the Tibetan people, and I’m not sure what else I can do.  I wrote a blog about the subject, and then elaborated on my views in response to comments on it (here’s the link: Chin Check China’s Olympics).  Since then, I’ve read about the Dalai Lama not supporting a boycott, et cetera, and I’m not so sure about my stance.  Will it help the Tibetan people?  I think the publicity helps them – and maybe the Olympics have been a boon in that they have brought publicity, though they also seem to have brought increased oppresssion in the short term.  I don’t know.  Maybe this is one of those cases where I’ve been swayed.  I’ve at least been swayed from my certainty (though I wasn’t totally certain in the first place).  Let’s be honest, though.  It’s easy for me to boycott the Olympics.  I doubt I’d watch them if they were held in Ohio.  I do wish I could do something.  Maybe getting people dialoguing about it is something.  But is it enough?  The decision I made to boycott was largely an emotional one, made quickly and before I’d completed my usual deliberations.  Perhaps it’s still the right decision – I just don’t know.  Still deliberating….


Let the games continue.  These are the “rules” I’ve inherited from Don, who inherited them from the soul who first interviewed him.

1. Leave me a comment saying “interview me,” if you wish.
2. I will respond by e-mailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
3. You will update your blog (so you have to have a blog) with a post containing your answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

You don’t have to do anything – just if you want to….

