On Thursday 7 August, Geri and I checked out the music and poetry open mic session at Jim’s Coffeehouse in downtown Elyria.  A cool place with good people and plenty of talent on display….  We were happy to see our friends Dianne and James Borsenik there as well.

You might recall my tripod issues in Sandusky the prior week.  This time my tripod was on hand and perfectly fine – but I ended up having camera issues (can you say operator malfunction?), which prevented me from catching Dianne’s and my performances on film.  Fortunately, I did catch some of the other local talent.

The following 3-minute video includes minister and poet Dan Samms paying tribute to Emily Dickinson’s Hope, Jimmy Pearson (of the band Starting the End) playing part of one of his original songs, and Jim’s Coffeehouse’s very own poet-in-residence (and event organizer) Carrie Slone sharing one of her pieces.  I wish I could show you even more.



 


Jim’s Coffeehouse holds these open mic sessions the first Thursday of every month at 7 p.m., and you’re invited.  If you’d like to perform, contact Carrie at 440-284-1444 or show up by 6:30 to register.  Yes, their coffee is amazing (I like the Blue Moon) – but so are their tea, chai, fruit smoothies, sandwiches and pastries.  Jim’s Coffeehouse hosts lots of other artistic events as well.  They have free WiFi.  And they’re quickly becoming the place to hang out in Elyria.  If you’re in the area, please check them out.

Jim’s Coffeehouse
2 Lake Avenue
Elyria, OH 44035
440-284-1444
www.jimscoffeehouse.com

