As I mentioned in a previous blog, I haven’t had much time and brain to blog lately with all the home issues going on (four grandchildren ages 6, 5, 4 and 3 who seem to have Energizer bunny DNA among them).  The prison journals were easy because they require time, but little brain – and I can type them in a few sentences at a time without needing to maintain a train a thought.  When I can maintain a train of thought, I’m focusing primarily on my book.

There are a couple of things I’ve been meaning to share, however.  When I filmed the three featured poets at Mac’s Backs bookstore in Cleveland Heights earlier this month (I’ll post that video here when I can), Suzanne DeGaetano graciously invited me to be one of the store’s featured readers on January 14th.  So please mark your calendars.  I have a lot of good new poetry I haven’t yet read live (at least I’m pleased with it), and I expect to have a newer, bigger chapbook by then.  Mac’s is one of the best spots in Ohio for poetry, despite their featuring little ol’ me, so I hope you can make it out there.

Dianne Borsenik’s and my Lix and Kix anti-censorship poetry event at the 806 Wine and Martini Bar earlier this month was successful enough that the establishment asked us to come back and host a poetry/music event there every month.  So beginning in November, we’ll be holding forth from 7 to 9 p.m. the third Tuesday of each month.  I hope it doesn’t conflict with anyone else’s poetry event.  But that’s the time of month the joint had available for us, and we’re happy to have the gig whatever day it is.

I was going to include a photo Dianne sent me of the awesome neon girl-and-martini-glass mural on the side of the 806 Wine and Martini Bar building, but now I can’t find it.  When I do, I’ll come back in and add it.  [Just found it:]



photo by Dianne Borsenik

14 January 2009 at 7 p.m.:
Mac’s Backs
1820 Coventry Road
Cleveland Heights, Ohio 44118
216-321-BOOK
www.macsbacks.com

3rd Tuesday of every month at 7 p.m.:
806 Wine and Martini Bar
806 Literary Road
Cleveland, Ohio
 216-862-2912  

Peace and poetry,
John

