Found another forgotten notebook today – I filled it in late 1996 and early 1997 and titled it Indy Cent Exposure.  Might change that to to Sent or Scent if I was titling it today.  On the front page I drew an abstract penny with my head in it (I’m on the laptop and don’t have access to my scanner, or I might share it with you) and used an African proverb as the inscription: “Make the drum available — and the drummer will appear.”  This notebook includes 83 poems, skits, songs, etc., in various states of incompletion.  For amusement’s sake I will share a few with you today.  Hope nobody wants to revoke my poetic lie-sense….


RESOLUTION, p. 52
[Wed. 1 January 1997, c. 12:45 a.m.]

This is the year
Of the proselyte
Prospective
Prostitute

Let us resolve
To sell ourselves
To ourselves
And the new year.

* * *

UNDER AWARE, p. 65
[Sat. 1 Feb. 1997, 4:35 p.m.]

To the height of
Om
Reaching into
Om
Nightly surrendering
Tasting the blood of
Om
Razing the walls
Ambling through
Preaching nothing
Towing the booty of
Om
Reeling into
Serenity

* * *

RAIN BLOW, p. 68
[Wed. 5 Feb 1997, 9:20 a.m.]

Concupiscent dawn
Lilts and twirls
(Turning down the high collar of
A light blue tongue)
Breathes tightly
Swallows black and white
Regurgitates color                                                                                                        

* * *

GATHA, p. 70
[Thurs. 6 Feb. 1997, 11:30 p.m.]

When I sit on my bunk
I vow to all beings
That I will see the beauty in my blanket
And the cold.

* * *

FLATULENCE, p. 77
[Wed. 19 Feb. 1997, 7:50 p.m.]

What
Wonderful tales
Your tail
Does tell.

* * *

BL’ EDEN, p. 81 
[Sat. 1 March 1997, 2 a.m.]

It’s been said
Eden is blue
And guaranteed

Red-gold paint on the highway
We are directed blindly
Formless
At least unconscious
Forces invent us

And the lead guitar bewails
Our separation
Unaware of our destiny

Not all that rises falls
Not all ends meet
But fate will not be denied

And there are more berries in Eden
Than blue

* * *

improvisation by Burroughs/Cruxton/Awada, p. 83
[Mon. 10 March 1997, 10:45 p.m.]

Darkness
Proclaims
Sunshine daydream
Holiness subdued
God’s form
Ballooning in splendor
Cheapened by flesh
Bitch Christ for hire

