I couldn’t find an October photo, so here’s one from 12 July 1996,
taken in the visiting room at Marion Correctional Institution


In October 1996 I marked the three-year anniversary of my incarceration – and I had no idea it would be nearly eight more years before I saw freedom.  This is a continuation of my blog Poetic Fragments from Prison 1997.  As I said there, these fragments come from a notebook called Indy Cent Exposure.  I believe these were seeds I intended to nurture and grow into something later, but then abandoned and forgot.  Anyway, for curiosity’s sake, here’s another sampling.  Don’t laugh too hard….


S’T’RAIN, p. 1
[1 October 1996, c. 11:55 p.m.]

In bed
I wonder
    if the south central rain will ever stop falling

Night never sleeps

Velvet satin
Shafts of light
Bidden good day
And I wander
    where the stars rarely twinkle

Life is a wrinkle

Lightning rises to the occasion
As limbo lingers in the wings
And I wonder
    how the sun and rain balance
        am I falling

* * *

DON’T NEED A WEATHERMAN, p. 10
[Sat. 5 Oct. 1996, 9:55 a.m.]

As the wind wanes
And the forecasters complain
I hold my head
Above the waves
And pray
My lover
To you

As storms arise
With fiery eyes
And beat belief into a pulp
I hold my chin
Steady
In the line of fire
And prophesy
For the one true God
Love

* * *

PEACE IN QUEUES, p. 12
[Sun. 6 Oct. 1996, 10:05 p.m.]

Pralines in
Eden,
Apples in
Cream,
Ecstasy
In small packages,
Nursing a dream,
Queer little ripple
Under the skin,
Elated by nougat,
Urgent and thin —
Eat life,
Speak food.

* * *

NEVER SAY EVER, p. 16
[Tues. 8 October 1996, 11:30 p.m.]

Water
            never
                        melts

* * *

EVER, p. 22
[Tues. 22 October 1996, 11:30 p.m.]

You will not accept my call
And I’m breathless
Dizzy
Undone
Your words of devotion are choked
By a noose of insecurity
And I am speechless
Broken
Wan
I thought my nightmare had ended
But as the dawn broke
You turned out the sun
Tore down my rainbow
Made me dizzy
Undone
Broken
Wan
Yet I love you
Fight these tears
And abandon forever
My poetry

