Federico García Lorca is my favorite Spanish poet.  I admit the tales of his abduction and murder at the hands of the Nationalists and the rumors of his affair with Salvador Dalí were what first drew my attention to him.  But the excellence of his poetry and plays kept my attention drawn.  I first learned about Lorca in one of Helen Shepard’s Spanish classes at Lorain County Community College in the late 1980s.  Helen’s courses were so interesting (they focused on the food/art/music/culture as much as the language), I ended up taking six of them – as many as the college offered at the time.

She’s retired from LCCC now.  But tonight, Helen (who you may know as Elena, the Spanish version of her name) will be giving what promises to be a fascinating presentation about Spanish poet and dramatist Federico García Lorca at the Cleveland Museum of Art’s Cafe Bellas Artes.  Here’s more information (swiped from the CMA website):


Friday, February 13, 2009
6:30pm -8:30pm Lite Refreshments & Cash Bar


“Federico García Lorca, His Poetry and Music”


This will be a bilingual presentation with poems read both in Spanish and in English translations.  Program is being presented by Helen A. Shepard.


Helen A. Shepard is a retired Associate Professor of Spanish, LCCC. She is a graduate of Penn State with a B. A. and M.A from Oberlin College.


Helen has lived in Spain at various times during her career. “I have known many writers, poets and professors during my years living in Spain and am a very close friend to Ian Gibson who wrote many books about Spain. This friendship has been very formative for me in my knowledge of Lorca and his environment when I lived in Granada during summers with the Oberlin College program.”

