Kathy, Wendy, Bree and some other friends posted a note on Facebook about 15 books that impacted ’em – and since I think I did such a list before (though I can’t remember what I put on it) and I don’t wanna be repetitive, here’s a narrower list of 15 poetry books or books about poetry that impacted me as a writer or person. It’s not a complete list – just the first 15 that popped into my mind. Some impacted me a long time ago. Some (perhaps obviously) did a lot more recently.

Alcools by Apollinaire
Biographia Literaria by Samuel Taylor Coleridge
A Season in Hell by Rimbaud
Zen over Zero by Steven B. Smith
Ukanhavyrfucknciti Bak by d.a. levy
Paradise Lost by John Milton
was chicken trax amid sparrows tread by Bree
The Avalanche of Time by Alex Gildzen
The Collected Poems of William Carlos Williams, Volume II
Flowers of Evil by Charles Baudelaire
Birthday Letters by Ted Hughes
Selected Poems by e.e. cummings
Pleasures of the Damned by Charles Bukowski
The Complete Haiku by Basho
Final Harvest: Emily Dickinson’s Poems


Photobucket

