[Here’s an impromptu stream of con-shush-ness “poem” I composed in a few minutes yesterday in the comment section of one of my Facebook status updates as an exercise in breaking up a few mental logjams and in shaking up depression:]

John Burroughs is something
like an indeterminately charged
deep press ion
positive or negative
depending on which way
the wind’s particles blow
North Pole
South Pole
Godsend
asshole

I sore
eye poor
visor
miser
Kublai Kaiser
upriser
downplayer
grayer
and grayer
and eventually gayer
with or without
your little pills
landfills
achtung hills
bone mills
TV swill
Jack and Jill Amityvilles
three and a half Mendelssohns
Camp Pendeltons
up end someone
and call him me if you will

… still
I’m something
like an indeterminately charged
deep press ion
no see icon
rhyme addict
line scion
cowardly lion
lying in a meadow
full of leaves
of grass
saying to my north
and south poles
I’m Walt
wit man
my ass

