Clevelands Favorite Songs is a recent project by Bree of Green Panda Press, where she invites folk affilated with Cleveland in some way, shape or form to submit their lists of favorite songs for online publication.  I had a heck of a time compiling my own list, and was only able to do so by imposing a few arbitrary rules on myself.  I would only include one song per artist (though a few people, like John Lennon, appeared twice, as a solo act and as part of a band).  The songs would be listed in no particular order of preference.  And I would make my list with the understanding that these were only 50 songs I felt comfortable selecting as my favorites the moment I selected them — that my list was bound to change daily or even hourly, and my list would already be incomplete, flawed and outdated by the time it appeared on the blog.  Indeed, as soon as I e-mailed my list to Bree I noticed some glaring oversights: I’d committed the unforgivable sin(s) of failing to include songs by some of my favorite artists, including Tom Waits, Bjork, Bruce Springsteen and Bob Dylan.  How could I have forgotten “Sad Eyed Lady of the Lowlands”?

One song I didn’t neglect to include is “Down in the Hole” by the Rolling Stones [from their 1980 album Emotional Rescue]:

Here’s the permalink to my 50: http://clevelandsfavoritesongs.blogspot.com/2010/07/john-burroughs-aka-jesus-crisis.html

And please consider sending yours to greenpandapress@gmail.com

