My old acquaintance Al Christian, who I hadn’t seen in nearly 20 years until this past week, recently reopened Jim’s Coffeehouse and Diner in downtown Elyria, Ohio, and has invited me to host a weekly poetry series there.  I’ve accepted.  The new series will begin November 7th, 2010, and occur every Sunday afternoon from 1 to 3 p.m.  Each session will include readings/performances from one or two featured poets and/or musicians, plus an open mic session for anyone else interested in sharing his or her work.  Unlike our usual Lix and Kix events in Lakewood, we’ll probably begin with the open mic promptly at 1 p.m., followed by our features — and maybe we’ll conclude with a little more open mic if time permits.  After doing poetry events all over the Greater Cleveland area and even in Pennsylvania, Michigan and West Virginia, I’m thrilled to finally bring it all back home, so to speak, to where I live in Elyria.

Jim’s Coffeehouse and Diner is located at 2 Kerstetter Way (formerly known as Lake Avenue) in downtown Elyria, just a few doors down from the East Falls River Walk, where you can catch a magnificent view of some of the Black River’s renowned waterfalls.  Maybe when the weather’s nice we’ll continue the poetry there when the coffee shop closes at 3.  If you’re interested in being a featured poet or performer, or just want more information, e-mail me at jc@crisischronicles.com.  Meanwhile, I hope to see you every Sunday afternoon from 1 to 3 p.m. at Jim’s Coffeehouse and Diner.

Peace and poetry,
John B.


I took these photos around Jim’s on 8/21/2010

