Last night might have been the last poetry and music event at Pumpkin Hollow Antiques and Cafe in Bellville, Ohio, as the place is scheduled to go on the auction block next week.  I had the honor of being a featured poet, along with Lix & Kix’s very own Dianne Borsenik and Columbus poet/guitarist Andy Roberts.  Ohio Poetry Association president Mark Hersman was the emcee, and the subsequent open mic showcased some fine work by sundry poets including Mark Jordan, Nancy Nixon, Christine Howey, Scott and Sharon Mooney, and others.  After the open mic, Mark called Dianne and me up to share a few more pieces.

Here are a couple of videos Dianne captured there.  The first features the second of my post open-mic poems: “Alarm Blocks.” — revised slightly (particularly at the end) since I posted the text on my blog last year:



The next clip was recorded earlier in the evening during a sort of sequefrom my feature into Dianne’s.  It begins with us reading the two sides of Dianne’s storybook poem, followed by our collaborative poem “Learning the Form” and my “Way Erred Scenes Inside a Jazz Mine” (from the Pudding House anthology What I Knew Before I Knew, edited by Sammy Greenspan and published in 2010).  Alas, my diction was bit fuzzy on the first line of that last poem, rendering my L in the word “flux” inaudible:

