Last Wednesday at 8 a.m., Dianne Borsenik and I were guests on The WEOL Morning Show with Jeff Thomas (930 on your AM dial, out of Elyria, Ohio).  We talked up In Verse Lorain and Snoetry 2, two big poetry events we’ll be hosting in the next couple of weeks, and I think it went very well.  Jeff Thomas was energetic, funny, extremely well prepared, and made us feel totally at ease like we were old friends.

The only thing I didn’t like was him calling the Kansas City people punks.  I know he was just trying to be funny and jap up local folk to attend.  But I know some good people/poets in KC and as far as I know they’re not punks. I will, however, enjoy surpassing their “longest poetry reading” mark.  Then maybe next year they’ll kick our asses again and we can go back and forth with it or maybe take these sorts of marathons to other cities and end up making poetry as popular as the Super Bowl, but without the multimillion dollar ads.

WEOL posted a recording of our interview here: http://weol.northcoastnow.com/audio/weol/011911ThePoets.mp3

For more about In Verse Lorain: A Poetry & Performing Arts Extravaganza, happening on January 28th 2011 at the Lorain Arts Council’s gallery, 737 Broadway Avenue in Lorain, Ohio, please visit our Facebook event page.

For more about Snoetry 2: A World Record Winter Wordfest, happening from February 2nd through 8th at Jim’s Coffeehouse and Diner, 2 Kerstetter Way in Elyria, Ohio, please visit our Facebook event page, or e-mail me at jc@crisischronicles.com.


