The good news: Mom came home last night after a week in the hospital.  That means a whole lot more than the bad news. I’m very grateful for all your kind wishes on her behalf.

The bad news: when I returned to Mom’s house with her groceries this afternoon I tried to log into Facebook and got this message: “Upon investigation, we have determined that you are ineligible to use
Facebook. Unfortunately, for safety and security reasons, we cannot
provide additional information as to why your account was disabled. This
decision is final.”

No explanation, no appeal.  The only possible reason I can imagine for them deeming me ineligible is the same reason MySpace deleted my personal profile in 2007: my nearly 20-year-old felony conviction.  According to info on Facebook’s Help page: “Convicted sex offenders are prohibited from using Facebook. Once we are
able to verify a user’s status as a sex offender, we immediately disable
their account and remove their account and all information associated
with it.”  I have blogged extensively about my 11 years in prison (from 1993 to 2004), and it has never been a secret.  I have been also been active on Facebook for 4 years (since December 2007) and never been a threat to anyone’s safety or security.

I’m not sure what exactly to do about this.  At first I was in shock.  Then I began crying, feeling an incredible sense of loss.  Then I became angry at the injustice. Now I’m feeling a bit numb.  I’ll try to write more soon.  Please know that I love you.


