Sunday June 24th, I had the pleasure of reading poetry with Jerry Jaffe, Chuck Joy, Dennis Shanaberg, Shelley Chernin, B.M. Stroud and headliner Michael Salinger during Living Poetry at Karma Koffee in Willoughby, Ohio.  Special thanks to Mr. Shanaberg, who kindly recorded the evening’s readings. Here’s what he captured of me.



http://youtu.be/guHa0HTPNvI

With so much going on at home, I was unable to make time to prepare a set, so except for intentionally taking along a couple of new poems, I pretty much grabbed pieces randomly and tried (except for “John Cage”) to avoid rereading anything I’d shared during my previous readings (in February and March) at Karma Koffee. Here’s how my order turned out:

1) “Rain Blow” (from Water Works) – the first or maybe second time I’ve read that poem publically.

2) “Karma Souptra” (from 6/9: Improvisations in Dependence) – an old favorite.

3) “8 O’Clock Copy” – a new, very rough draft that still needs work.

4) “Will, or a Way of Heming” – a new poem just written just that morning and published a few weeks later in the premiere issue of Lief magazine.

5) “Kiss” (from Electric Company, where it appears with a different title).

6) “John Cage Engaged and Uncaged” (from Bloggerel) – my most often read poem.

I unintentionally lied in the video when I said that was a poem from each of my chapbooks. I forgot Identity Crisis and Lens.

You can catch the next Living Poetry at Karma Koffee on July 22nd at 7:30 p.m. when the featured poets will include Skylark Bruce, Christina Brooks, Dennis Shanaberg, Urania Writes host BM Stroud and headliner Azriel Johnson.

Karma Koffee, 4124 Erie St, Willoughby, Ohio 44094

