I don’t have much time to blog right now, but just want to say that it now seems official that Geri and I will be moving to Cleveland in the coming month (probably by September 1st).  We’ll have a way smaller living space, but it will be a welcome change of pace, closer to Geri’s work and probably better for me professionally as well. Still, I will always love Elyria, be an Elyrian and visit Elyria often (especially with Mom living here).  Is this what the Mayan calendar predicted?

For now I only have two more poetry events scheduled in this fair city and I hope to see you at one or (hopefully) both.  I’ll be reading at the Ely Square pagoda (right in the heart of town) on July 24th and August 28th during Main Street Elyria‘s 4th Tuesday festivies (which include music and other fun around the downtown area).  This month I will be joined by Vladimir Swirynsky and Korean War veteran Robert Collins.  Vlad’s biography of Robert, Take Your Time But Hurry Up, was just published by New Kiev Press in Cleveland.  Then in August, I will be joined by Christina Brooks, whose poetry chapbook, A Thousand Voices: A City Shaman’s Notebook, was recently published by The Poet’s Haven. 

If anyone would like to be added to the list of featured readers for either event, please email me ASAP at jc@crisischronicles.com.  First come, first serve — but we’ll have an open mic, too, in case you don’t want your appearance publicized or just prefer to decide to read at the last minute.  Bring a lawn chair or blanket if you wanna make sure you have a seat (I’ll probably sprawl on the grass).  You might also wanna bring some munchies, or plan to visit one of our great nearby restaurants, like Moss’ Prime Rib or Pasquale’s Pasta House.

Ely Square doesn’t have an official address as far as I know, but it’s bordered by Broad Street, Middle Avenue, Court Street and Second Street — easy to find if you follow the downtown signs off St. Route 57 (which you can reach via I-90, I-80 or I-480). [Update: I’ve been notified that it does have an address: 417 Broad Street.]

Come show Elyria some love before the end of the world.

