First of all, please consider going to Stardust Poetry in Canton tonight to celebrate the release of Dianne Borsenik’s new book, Corpus Lingua, by the Poet’s Haven.  Hear performances by her and Fable, share your own work at the open mic, and check out (or participate in) the evening’s Lake Effect Poetry duet slam.  It all begins at 7 pm at Karma Cafe, 4339 Dressler Road NW in Canton, Ohio.



Remember when I used to co-host the Lix and Kix Poetry Extravaganza every month in Lakewood, host the PoetryElyria series every week in Lorain County, host a monthly reading at the Avon Lake Public Library and host irregular poetry events at the Lorain Arts Council and other random places – all around the same time?!

I’ve since largely withdrawn from hosting events to focus on publishing and other work. But sometimes an opportunity appears that I simply cannot pass up — and one just did!  So a week from tomorrow, on Saturday 25 January 2014 from 5 to 7 p.m., I will be hosting a special triple book release at the legendary Barking Spider Tavern in Cleveland.



Our three featured authors will be Steve Brightman (whose 13 Ways of Looking at Lou Reed was published in December by Crisis Chronicles Press), Dianne Borsenik (whose Corpus Lingua, as I mentioned already, was just published by The Poet’s Haven) and Dan Smith (whose The Liquid of Her Skin, the Suns of Her Eyes was recently published by NightBallet Press).  Here’s your chance to hear three of Ohio’s finest word artists, support three hard working local small presses, and have a great time while you’re at it.  I’ll emcee an open mic before the features. So please get there on time if you want to perform.

You may recall that the Barking Spider was the first place I ever attended a live poetry event or read at an open mic, back in May 2008.  I met a lot of my favorite local poets (Dianne, Terry Provost, Claire McMahon, Ray McNiece and George Bilgere) for the first time that day.  I had a great time, got an enthusiastic response to my poems, and I was hooked.

Maybe you’ll get hooked, too, if you’re not already. 

Please come see what the excitement’s all about. Release, release, release — feels so good!

Barking Spider Tavern
11310 Juniper Road (near CWRU)
Cleveland, Ohio

(216) 421-2863
http://www.barkingspidertavern.com/

