…at least for some of us.

Tomorrow, May 5th, at 7:30 p.m. I will host Monday at Mahall’s.  Join us for a fabulous night of living literature, featuring Ohio treasures Dawn Shepler Shimp and Smith & Lady — PLUS, for any who dare, brews, bowling and a bowl-you-over open mic.  For more information, click here.


Dawn photo by Jen Pezzo, Smith/Lady photos by Smith


Thursday May 8th at 7 p.m. I will be at Heights Arts in Cleveland Heights for Ekphrastacy.  The gallery’s current exhibition is Morganites: Fiber in Flux, curated by Tom Balbo of the Morgan Papermaking Conservatory.  Balbo will give an informal talk about the conservatory and the artists represented in this show. Then poets Bunny Breslin, Jill Sell, Linda Tuthill, Linda Goodman Robiner and me (John Burroughs) will read new poems inspired by works in the exhibition.  I will debut my “In Due Season,” written from the perspective of Melissa Jay Craig’s Reap.  (To see Reap from three angles, click here, here and here.  To see and hear my poem, you’ll have to come to the event.)  Thanks to Cleveland Heights Poet Laureate Kathleen Cerveny for having me be a part of this.


Then on Wednesday May 14th at 7 p.m. I will probably be participating in the annual Hessler Street Fair Poetry Competition at Mac’s Backs Books in Cleveland Heights.  I say probably because I’ve submitted a poem, but I’ve not yet heard whether I’ve made the cut.  For more info on the competition, click here.

And finally, don’t forget to get your submissions in for the 2014 Best Cleveland Poem Competition sponsored by Tim Misny. Later this year, Crisis Chronicles Press will publish a book of the best work submitted. 

